Prequel to the Sequel

protest/rally/vigil thing

Posted in Editorial by brmeyer3 on 09/03/2009

Sorry for the lack of updates, been really busy shooting almost every day. Yesterday as i was leaving my last class i get a call from Ned telling me i needed to be in downtown champaign at that very moment. I told him my camera was busy doing my homework (firing remotely via my computer off my balcony). He told me to grab his and run down there. After grabbing his nikon (yuck) i rode my bike to the down town and couldnt find anything there. Turns out i needed to go to downtown urbana and Ned told me the wrong city. So i had to ride my bike to my car and then drive to the rally. I made it to the rally, which was about the health care system, and only had a couple minutes to shoot because i had to make it back to my apartment to continue my homework. I got a decent image i think, its hard to make protest look visually interesting when there isnt any tear gas around that was thrown by riot police. Also Nikon cameras suck and pretty much everything on them is backwards to my canon. Also, i felt out numbered at this rally, everyone was liberal.

healthcareprotest_BM-4

*Image copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mulka said, on 09/04/2009 at 10:01 PM

    Probably your best photo ever, and you know why

  2. thirdphotography said, on 09/05/2009 at 12:47 AM

    Our top story tonight: several old people gathered outside a courthouse in Urbana. This moving demonstration rallied leaders in Washington from both sides of the aisle to pass a health care reform bill within hours.


Leave a Reply

