Prequel to the Sequel

10 second portraits

Posted in Personal by brmeyer3 on 11/19/2009

I’ve had this idea cooking up in my head ever since the beginning of summer. I wanted to take portraits of people using a ridiculously long exposure, like over 10 seconds, and add in a strobe  somewhere. So i would open the shutter, flash my subjects, and have them run out of the frame as soon as the strobe went off, and let the camera sit on the tripod still recording the background behind them. In my head it would make the people look translucent and whatever texture was behind them would show through their skin. Well i needed to come up with something for my photo class that incorporated natural and artificial light and decided now was the time to try it. It pretty much worked out how I envisioned it, creating a ghost/reflection like effect. Hopefully my photo professor likes it and doesn’t think it is boring/cliche/hokey.

*Images copyright Brad Meyer

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mulka said, on 11/20/2009 at 2:26 AM

    I think that bottom right one is your winner
    Her right cheek, viewer’s left, is perfectly exposed in my opinion

  2. Joshua said, on 11/21/2009 at 7:38 AM

    I would agree with Ned, and I think the idea is pretty awesome…

  3. Dean said, on 11/22/2009 at 5:02 PM

    Yup bottom right winnar. I really love the wesley one though. He’s got like that Dos Equis “Most Interesting Man in the World” mystique to him.


Leave a Reply

