Prequel to the Sequel

Accidental Portrait

Posted in Editorial by brmeyer3 on 02/08/2010

Last thursday I had to take a portrait of a professor on campus who developed a type of water purifier. Well it was a complete failure on the portrait part of the assignment, but I still walked away with some photos of him “working” with the purifier. I wanted to use off camera flash, but my dodgy cable to connect my flash trigger to the strobe decided to not work at all, so I had to abandon that. I then had him work underneath the vent hood cause it looked all science like and cool, and grabbed this photo of him looking up at me. It was a complete accident and he wasn’t expecting it, nor was I. I remember Wesley took a test photo of a girl using flash, and he ended up using it as his keeper, so I did the same with this.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dean said, on 02/10/2010 at 2:17 AM

    Here’s what I would try in this situation.

    I would go lower/wider, this is sort of awkward like I’m looking over his shoulder and his expression is sorta weird.

    I’d also play up the beakers and sciencey stuff more. One thing i’d try is hail mary-ing it by putting your 5D under the hood and seeing if you could get the beakers in focus while him working on it is layered behind. And then one with him in focus with the front beakers layered out. Or something from the side with him looking at the apparatus.


Leave a Reply

