Prequel to the Sequel

Sports Portraits

Posted in Editorial, Sports by brmeyer3 on 02/17/2010

I love doing portraits of athletes, because that means I can pull out my strobes and get to light them in an edgy style. I feel though that I am starting to get redundant with my lighting and style of them, (really under exposed background, 1 light to the side of the camera, and maybe a rim light if I have access to another strobe). Maybe this is because I literally only have a few minutes of the athletes time to grab a photo of them, so I stick to a tried and true way. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Im really going to start browsing the web to hopefully get some new ideas to break outside of my box and to try new lighting setups.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dean said, on 02/18/2010 at 8:17 PM

    Love the softball one. It reminds me those nike ads.

    The tennis one is nice too, the back/rim light is a bit hot for me.

  2. thirdphotography said, on 02/19/2010 at 3:43 AM

    I like the pose in the softball one, but the people just sort of standing around behind an action shot kinda ruins the illusion for me. (and i guess i should say “person” cuz it looks like the one on the right is taking swings or something, but still). That and the giant “FOOTBALL” on the wall. Though I understand about not having much time, and you definitely don’t have the control to ask the people behind her to stop what they’re doing and move out of the way.

    Also, the ceiling’s got some good lines on it. Maybe by rotating yourself around her a little bit, you could get those lines working with you on an angle to increase the dynamic nature of this shot. Though, obviously, I don’t know what’s going on outside of your frame, so maybe you thought of that and it just wasn’t possible.

    As for the other shot, I agree with Dean… the back light’s a little much this time. You’ve got the nice solid black and crisp color throughout, but the light through their hair is messy and harsh. That arm hair really bothers me, especially when compared to the smooth legs or the line her arm creates over her shirt.

    Still, these are better than any athlete portrait shots I took for the DI. And I’m you’ll get past any redundancy issues you think you have and come up with some more great stuff. Can’t wait to see it! Hope you’re well.


Leave a Reply

