Prequel to the Sequel

First hockey game of the season

Posted in Editorial, Sports by brmeyer3 on 03/02/2010

Friday night I shot hockey for the first time this school year. Last year, hockey was always my favorite sport to shoot because it is 60 minutes of non-stop action and we are allowed to shoot from the penalty boxes, which puts me right in the middle of the action. I never shot hockey this year because I always had some other conflict on friday nights, like shooting high school football or something else. I could tell I was rusty during the first period. The players are extremely fast on the ice, and I had trouble keeping up with them, but I got used to it by the second period. Also, my camera with the 70-200 was a little short in the focal length department, but I brought along my 1.4x teleconverter which helped a lot. I was also having trouble keeping up in the fps department, which might mean a 7D might be added to my camera bag if I have a well paying job this summer. I really wish there were holes in the corner glass so we could shoot from there and get some good photos of players shooting at the goal with their faces in them, and not their butts. I still want to make a remote goal camera housing too. Hopefully I can do that this summer if money allows for it.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

Leave a Reply

