Prequel to the Sequel

More Promos

Posted in Bands, Personal by brmeyer3 on 04/07/2010

Way to much homework/work = stale blog.

Over spring break I had the opportunity to take promo shots of The Afternoon and Five Oh First. Both went really bad in my mind, but the bands ended up liking the photos. I drove back from school, and as soon as I made it to my house, I was leaving to try and meet up with the guys in The Afternoon to get some shots in before all of the natural light was gone. Sadly, we were too late and I pretty much didn’t get any shots of a cool sky/sunset. We found a camping roof thing and set up my lights in their and shot. We had to use the headlight of their car to see what we were doing and so I could focus on them. On Saturday, my second day of break, I made it up to Carol Stream to shoot Five Oh First again. I had a bunch of ideas in my head, but to my bad luck it was snowing out ( on spring break, not cool). We tried some shots in their basement of them pretending to watch a movie. I wasn’t happy with my results and I’ve seen shots like it before. I then asked if they wanted to find an open asphalt parking lot to shoot in, and try something with the wet ground. I was hoping to get a cool reflection with my rim light, but that didn’t really work out. Also, snow was still falling, which meant I had a ton of photoshopping it out, as they didnt want it. It was a pain. I tried a new lighting placement with them, kind of. I stuck my light directly behind me and in front of them, instead of my usual placing it to the side and doing my Rembrandt lighting. More posts to come hopefully.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mrstein2 said, on 04/07/2010 at 12:51 AM

    Yeah the dude in the top on the right has hair in his eye and an ugly face while the bottom photo the guys just look like they don’t know what to do. Super dorky smiles.


Leave a Reply

