Prequel to the Sequel

Illini of the Week

Posted in Editorial, Sports by brmeyer3 on 04/22/2010

The past 2 weeks,  Wesley and myself have  shot portraits of the paper’s Illini of the Week. The first one was of a tennis player, Abe Souza. When I got their I had forgotten my wireless transmitter, which meant I couldnt light him off camera. I started freaking out because I did not want to just shoot him with the ambient high-noon sun. I then made the executive decision to just light him with on camera flash, thinking how Scott Strazzante of the Chicago Tribune did a story using direct flash in all of his photos. Im not entirely happy with these shots, probably because I knew they would be much better if the light was off to the side.

This week we had to shoot a portrait of the softball teams pitcher, Monica Perry. I remembered all my gear this time, and were able to light her how we/I wanted. Wesley wanted to do shots of her actually throwing a pitch by him, and he almost lost his head (see attached photo). I just did a traditional portrait focusing on getting the scoreboard in the background. The sun wasn’t in our favor, but we made due with what we had.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mrstein2 said, on 04/22/2010 at 12:51 AM

    I saw a small spike in visitors today and I’m guessing it’s because of this post. Thanks for the traffic!


Leave a Reply

