Prequel to the Sequel

Tea Party Rally

Posted in Editorial by brmeyer3 on 04/22/2010

Last thursday I was assigned to cover the Champaign Tea Party rally. Going off of my past experiences of protests, I was expecting this to be lame and boring and not fun to shoot. I was shocked by the number of people that attended, and the liberals were decided to join in and argue/protest against the conservatives. I was walking around grabbing as many different shots as I could because I knew this would be come an online gallery for the website, and possibly a photo spread (which didnt happen). Half way through, I was talking to an officer and he pointed out the Mayor of Champaign and that he was attending. I started watching the mayor, and he then proceeded to jump into a heated battle between both political sides and I started snapping away. The photo below of the kid arguing with him was a law student, and he had no idea that he was yelling at the mayor of the town he lives in. The next day, a video appears on youtube of the Mayor stating his view on how he thinks Obama is not a US citizen. That story ended up being printed/posted all over the state, and the Chicago Tribune even wrote about it. If only we knew, my photo could have been up on AP and printed all over the state, bummer. I was also shocked at all of the kids in attendance. They should have been in school ( It was 12:00 in the afternoon) and I thought they were a little young to have such strong political views at such an early age. View the rest of my photos from the event here.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

Leave a Reply

