Prequel to the Sequel

Goodbye sun!

Posted in Personal by brmeyer3 on 05/30/2010

This past week I ordered a new strobe ( Alienbees b800), a beauty dish (which I have been wanting to get for over a year now), a softbox and some other minor camera things after receiving a check from the university for a video project I did for them. This strobe has more output then my old one, and works a lot better with my vagabond battery, which makes location work much smoother without things freaking out. I took the new strobe and beauty dish out in my backyard to see how much I could over power the sun by, and had my family stand in front of the camera for a few minutes. I was shooting at ISO 50, 1/200 of a second, and from F/18-22 with my strobe at full power using the dish. If the background was dark enough (pine trees), I could completely knock out any ambient light and make it black. Now I want to start using this stuff on some bands to make my portfolio stronger and have more variety.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dean said, on 06/14/2010 at 11:06 PM

    I found a B800 on craigslist for $225 but by the time I talked to the guy he only had a B400 left for $180 so I bought it anyway since I needed to start amassing some strobes. Got a free 20 degree grid, too.


Leave a Reply

