Prequel to the Sequel

First Sports Assignments with the 7D

Posted in Editorial, Sports by brmeyer3 on 08/25/2010

As soon as I got back to school I wanted to shoot some sports to test out the 7D I got a couple weeks ago ( I bought it because the 5D2 wasn’t keeping up with the action). Not only was I extremely rusty shooting sports from my lack of  photography over the summer, the autofocus is a lot more complex then the 5d2, and took some learning to get used to. I shot volleyball first and didnt do as well as I hoped, then shot soccer a few days later and came out with more keepers. I’ve learned that the 7D is way better at following fast action things and shooting at twice as many frames per second helps out a lot. But the 5d2 smokes it at high ISO’s and has a much better image quality.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

Leave a Reply

