Prequel to the Sequel

First Home Football Game of the Year

Posted in Uncategorized by brmeyer3 on 09/13/2010

Last night was the first home Illini football game of the school year/season against Southern Illinois University. Most people thought that it was very possible for SIU to take the victory, but that wasnt the case at all, with a final score of Illinois winning 35-3. It was a night game which kind of sucked having to shoot at High ISO’s and having it eat up most of my day. I felt like I shot the first half better then the second half (maybe its because i was using my 1.4x tcon?) I still caught a lot of peak action moments though. Im also really happy with the fact that I wasn’t shooting lame photos of our quarterback throwing every pass, and focused more on capturing the action that was on the receiving end of that pass. Im looking forward to next weeks day game against Northern Illinois University.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dean said, on 09/13/2010 at 9:21 AM

    that is portfolio-worthy.

  2. Xingyuan Wang said, on 09/14/2010 at 9:34 PM

    This is awkward because we’ve only met once (through Mike Stein), but I’m curious how the 7D is holding up for you. I saw you write in a previous post that its noise is higher than that of your 5DII — I suppose for photojournalism it’s another step, but have you considered a dedicated noise software (like Noise Ninja or the like)? In addition, how’s the AF tracking? I know some users needed to get used to the featureset of the 7D’s AF “suite,” so I wasn’t sure if that’s something that came naturally to you or if you had to trial and error it before you found settings that have (apparently) worked for you.

    And agree with Dean on his comment. Definitely a keeper!

  3. brmeyer3 said, on 09/14/2010 at 9:47 PM

    Oh yeah, hey dude. Noise isnt a huge deal to me, Id rather capture a shot with out anything blurring. But after the the 5d2 the 7D is really noisy compared to it (I havnt shot anything under 3200 on it oddly) but its still fine for me. The autofocus is a ton better then the 5d2 and tracking works really well for me. For sports I just use the center point with assist points and the tracking sensitivity up all of the way and it works well.

  4. Xingyuan Wang said, on 09/17/2010 at 7:29 PM

    Gotcha. Glad it’s working out — I’m still hoping for a 5D with the 7D’s AF (without buying a Nikon…). :p


Leave a Reply

