Prequel to the Sequel

Last weeks assignments

Posted in Editorial by brmeyer3 on 10/06/2010

Here are some photos from last week’s assignments. I’m a bit behind in blogging, and this is due to having a ton of homework and working 4 jobs.

Below is a feech I stumbled across after shooting an assignment of a Board of Trustees meeting, which are not very visually interesting. It turns out this was assigned to another photog, and someone else came across it an feeched it, so in total this kid was shot by 3 different photographers.

Ben Shi, junior in Engineering, drapes the Chinese flag around one of the figures of the Alma Mater on Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010. The decorating of the statue is to promote Chinese-American unity night, which is on Sept. 25.

I wasn’t having high hopes for this assignment. It was at the Japan house on campus, and the photo request said something like, super cool japanese dancers are performing and it should be awesome. When a writer has to hype up their story on a photo request, that generally means its going to be lame. Granted two japanese women playing guitars isn’t exactly action packed, but I became really excited when I noticed the simplicity in the scene with the colors and lines and the almost symmetrical composition.

Shamisen artists Chizuru Kineya, left, and Satomayu Kineya perform at the Japan House on Monday, Sept. 27, 2010. A shamisen is a traditional japanese instrument that is similar to a guitar and consists of only three strings.

And lastly I had to shoot an event where volunteers were installing bike lights on peoples bikes for free. As I walked to the location, I was noticed any and all bikers were stopping to grab a free light. There was a huge line down the street and an assembly line of people screwing these lights on. This made my job super easy and I was done really quick. I also shot every photo with my 85mm at 1.8, which is rare for me. I tend to stick to my zoom lenses for their versatility, but shooting prime causes me to think more and give a different feel to my images I think.

Danielle Hagemann, graduate student, waits in line with other bikers for a free bike light at the corner of Wright and Green streets on Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010. CUMTD hosted Light the Night and offered free front and rear bike lights to bikers.

Jens Wehner, senior in Engineering, watches Patrick Simons of Champaign Police install a safety light on his bike at the corner of Wright and Green streets on Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010.

Heather Shade, freshman in FAA, installs a bike light at the corner of Wright and Green streets on Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010.

*All images copyright Brad Meyer and the Daily Illini

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joshua said, on 10/06/2010 at 1:02 AM

    Primes>>>>>>>>>>>Zooms


Leave a Reply

